It’s hard being the PM

I hope you’re all having a good weekend. It’s been a really tough week for me. People have been getting onto me about the large number of homeless people living in garages and cars around the greater Auckland area and in other parts of the country.

There really is no need for anybody not to live in a house. Anybody can just rock up to WINZ and ask for a low interest loan to pay for a few nights in a dirty motel. With that small leg up from the government they can then go out and get a job and buy a house. It really is that simple.

The National government prides itself on providing the necessary fiscal measures for people to live in their own home, and if not their own home, a home that’s owned by one of the very MPs creating and maintaining the fiscal conditions for that home’s existence.

Let me talk about me for a minute. Back in the 1980s I was homeless. There was a time there while working for a large unnamed finance company when I had no home. I lived in hotels and holiday houses across the US and Europe. This was a very hard time for me travelling around the world, sipping champagne and making millions of dollars. I totally understand what these people living in their cousin’s garage must be going through.

Now, of course, I own a number of properties, as do my ministers. It’s important to remember that if we adjust the fiscal conditions too quickly, then many, many of our voters will get burned.

The Greens want Housing NZ to give up its dividend to the government. Labour want Housing NZ to build thousands of houses. This is sheer lunacy. It’s not going to work. Sure, it will mean Housing NZ has millions of dollars to build all the houses Labour wants it to. But what is that going to achieve?

Labour and the Greens should just stick to what they’re good at – suggesting whole range of solutions to a raft of problems which National can then pick and choose from. Let National get on with the business of governing and leave the policy development to the idiots. Or, as we’ve been doing for the past three or four weeks, re-announcing policies we’ve had in place for ages – policies that haven’t really worked – so that it looks like we’re doing something (It’s what CrosbyTextor would want us to do).

Just ask yourself, at the end of the day, is the policy really going to make my real estate portfolio grow? Will my blind trust, the blind trust that I absolutely don’t see ever at all, fall in value. Possibly, or possibly not, but I don’t want to take that risk.

And that’s the dilemma I face every day. Being Prime Minister is really hard, man. Do I do the right thing for me, my mates and our voters or do I do the right thing for New Zealand?

I know which one I’m choosing.

One response

  1. Hi Mr Boon how are you doing? Morgan here from Massey days. Been catching up with some olds mates and tonight i would track you down. I’m in welly but head down south for tramping maybe catch you up. Cheer

    Like

Leave a Reply

