#edchatNZ Blogging Meme

If you get included in the blogging meme: copy/paste the questions and instructions into your own blog then fill out your own answers. Share on twitter tagging 5 friends.

1. How did you attend the #Edchatnz Conference? (Face 2 Face, followed online or didn’t)

  • I flew up to Auckland because I wanted to put faces to twitter names. I actually don’t know who I didn’t meet! Someone will tell me.

2. How many others attended from your school or organisation?

  • I was the only one from my school.

 

3.How many #Edchatnz challenges did you complete?

  • About 5 or 6. I ended up being the Grelfie guy thanks to my association with a certain vehicular construction company.

4. Who are 3 people that you connected with and what did you learn from them?

  • Annemarie Hyde (@mrs_hyde): absolute hilarity all the time. The more time I spend with her the better my life will be.
  • Alyx Gillett (@chasingalyx): It’s funny how your assumptions develop. Because Alyx was on the steering committee, was presenting, and inspired me right from the start of her presentation I assumed she’s been around for years. The fact that she is still a provisionally registered teacher actually blows my mind.
  • Kristyn Rack: I got talking to her on my tour of Hobsonville Point Primary. I wanted to find out about systems and getting parents to understand the future of education (which is actually now). She was open and welcoming and I have instantly been inspired to change and augment my practice. 

 

5. What session are you gutted that you missed?

  • I was lucky in that I managed to see everything that I wanted to. Lucky me!

 

6. Who is one person that you would like to have taken to Edchatnz and what key thing would they have learned?

  • I would have liked to have taken the Year 3/4 teacher from our school. She is a self-confessed technophobe and I want her to understand it’s not about the technology or the bean-bags, it’s about the pedagogy.

 

7. Is there a person you didn’t get to meet/chat with (F2F/online) that you wished you had? Why?

  • Meeting the people I did was fantastic. There were many, many people there who I probably should have said “hello” to but never got around to it. I will leave that for the next #edchatnz conference.

 

8. What is the next book you are going to read and why?

  • My answer to this is unknown. I am catching up with all the new blogs I am following. However, there is a book on key competencies that the book edchat people are reading. I think I have to read that one (Key Competencies for the Future).

 

9. What is one thing you plan to do to continue the Education Revolution you learnt about at #EdchatNZ?

  • I will continue what I am doing in my class, only more uber. I’ve already posted about it – becoming a transparent teacher.

10. Will you take a risk and hand your students a blank canvas?

  • I am willing to take a risk and hand them a semi-blank canvas. I still need to get some robust systems in place and working correctly before we can really go for it. Continued conflabboration with my new besties will help with this…

 

Who do will I tag with this meme:

Annemarie Hyde @mrs_hyde
Sonya van Schaijik @vanschaijik
Ben Hilliam @benhilliam
Danielle Myburgh @MissDtheTeacher
Alex le Long @ariaporo22
I was going to tax Alyx Gillett but she’s already done one!
I’m definitely going to rest now. Thanks all for a fantastic weekend.
Mr B
Leave a Reply

