Who can teachers rely on?

This article has some very similar thoughts to my blog from Thursday evening… You should read both!!

Networkonnet

It was 1990: an article from the first edition of Developmental Network Newsletter – a memo to myself

I stood outside the departmental offices in the Hamilton Education Board, barred from returning, apparently to protect the supplies of HBs and paper.

For me it had all started with accounts of how neo-liberalism and the associated managerialism were affecting school systems in England and America, especially America. Accounts I had read but more powerfully heard from academics at research conferences, the most telling and impassioned being from Ivan Snook.

– – –

It was early 1988 and I was standing at a bus queue at Wellington airport when I heard my name called out; it was Noel Scott, now an associate education minister, previously a district senior inspector of schools while I was in the primary inspectorate across the Waikato River.

‘Hop in,’ he said from his chauffeur-driven car.

He was…

View original post 2,259 more words

Leave a Reply

