Rodney Hide Tells Us What He’s Really Thinking

Hi everybody.

It’s been an incredibly busy week as I get ready for my first camp this year (that’s right!! I’m going on more than one!!!). Having been relieving for the last 3 years I have forgotten how much actual organising is involved in setting up a camp. 11 hour days just about every day this week.

There is the small matter of planning and teaching for my class that has to be catered for as well.

So I’m just getting my head into gear this morning thinking about finishing of the RAMs form so that my kids are safe on our four-day mission when I read this headline in the Granny Herald:

Mad and bad unions hold us to ransom

Because the article was from the former Right Honourable Rodney Hide I decided to read further, wondering to myself whether it was cleaners, Helen Kelly or watersiders that he was aiming his attack.

No. It was teachers.

O.K. Fair enough. I mean all of the teachers I know who belong to unions are currently thinking to themselves, “I must really hold my school, parents and community to ransom.”

Take me for instance. I’m a union member. This week when I was working my 11 hour days at school – getting in at 7am and leaving at 6pm – every five minutes or so I was about how I could bring down the entire education system.

I was also plotting. Plotting to take over my school so that my power was absolute. Once I have taken over my school I can take over the whole district, province and finally country. Once I have total control of the education system I will be able to destroy it.

Because, Rodney Hide, every single teacher I know got into teaching, not to impart knowledge, not to improve lives, not to help future citizens discover their passions, but to destroy the very system that employs them. You are so very, very right.

It was that and the money.

Yes, Rodney Hide, once again you have hit the nail on the head with your wonderfully insightful perceptions into those things you know so little about. It must be incredibly hard to remain so committed to your right-wing ideologies of low government spending (unless it’s on subsidies for close colleagues) after being so used to spending vast amounts of free government money for so very long.

I look forward to your future ravings with a sense of awe.

You are awesome. Your Awesomeness.

Mr B.

Leave a Reply

